Employment | FAQ | Site Map

The RESTORE Act of 2012 is an acronym for: Resources and Ecosystems Sustainability, Tourist Opportunities and Revived Economies of the Gulf Coast States Act of 2012. The RESTORE Act established a Gulf Coast Restoration Trust Fund in the U.S. Treasury in which 80 percent of the Clean Water Act penalties from the Deep Horizon Oil Spill will be distributed to impacted areas for recovery.

Florida Association of Counties (FAC) is assisting in facilitating a Consortium of 23 Gulf Coast Counties for implementation of the RESTORE Act. For future updates and information about the RESTORE Act Consortium, please visit this web page. For details see links below.

  • Gulf Coast Restoration: RESTORE Act and Related Efforts
  • Draft of U.S. Treasury Rules for RESTORE Act
  • Letter to the Dept. of Treasury
  • Comments on Draft Dept. of Treasury Rules
  • Joint Resolution of Disproportionately Affected Counties
  • Memorandum of Understanding Between State of Florida & Gulf Consortium
  • Gulf Consortium Interlocal Agreement
  • 112th Congress House Report 112-557
  • FAC RESTORE Act Information
  • RESTORE the Gulf
  • Deepwater Horizon Florida

    The Board adopted Resolution 13-47 on March 5, 2013 and appointed the following members to the committee:

    Okaloosa County RESTORE Council
  • Okaloosa League of Cities North (Crestview) - Thomas Gordon
  • Okaloosa League of Cities South (Destin) - Sam Seevers
  • Charter Boat Association and Fishermen’s Cooperative - Gary Jarvis
  • Greater Fort Walton Beach Chamber of Commerce - Dr. Jack Azzaretto
  • Niceville-Valparaiso Chamber of Commerce –Brian Haugen
  • Okaloosa County School Board - Cindy Frakes
  • EDC - Kay Rasmussen
  • Tourism - Martin Owen
  • Environmental - Steve Shippee
  • Citizen At Large - Jonathan Tallman
  • Citizen At Large - James Breitenfeld