Parks Advisory Committee

Okaloosa County's diverse natural environment plays a vital role in preserving our wealth of outdoor activities.

The Okaloosa County Parks Advisory Committee was established in 2004 by the Board of County Commissioners. The committee consists of nine citizens, six coming from the unincorporated areas and three from the incorporated areas, with each County Commission District being represented by at least one member.   

The Advisory Committee serves as advisors to the Board of County Commissioners and the Parks Department.

Their duties include the following:

  • assisting with identification of sites for future community parks, boat ramps, beach access, parking, and trails and bikeways.
  • assisting with joint use agreements with the School Board, municipalities,YMCA, Eglin officials, State Forestry, and other partners to help reduce cost.
  • working with neighborhood associations to develop parks in existing neighborhoods.
  • identification of funding sources (FRDAP, TEA-21, Land & Water Grant, etc.)
  • preparation of a priority list for the establishment of new recreational locations.

The Parks Advisory Committee meets the first Wednesday of every month form 3:00pm to 5:00pm alternating locations between the Public Works conference room in Crestview at 1759 S. Ferdon Blvd. and the conference room at the Okaloosa County Administration Building at 1250 N. Eglin Parkway in Shalimar.

Liaison Department: Okaloosa County Public Works / Parks – (850) 689.5790